THE REIGNING ALL-IRELAND U20 football champions Galway will take on Mayo in their opening game of this year’s championship.

Captain Jack Glynn lifts the trophy after the 2020 All-Ireland U20 football final.

Galway were pitted against their old rivals at the semi-final stage when the draw was made for the Connacht U20 championship last night. When the counties met at the U20 preliminary round stage last February, Galway progressed after a 3-2 penalty shootout win.

Roscommon were drawn to play Leitrim at the quarter-final stage with the winners there taking on Sligo at the other semi-final tie.

Draw for Connacht U-20 Championship made tonight, games at the Connacht GAA COE

QF Apr 3rd@RoscommonGAA v @LeitrimGAA

SF Apr 10th@sligogaa v Ros/Lei@Galway_GAA v @MayoGAA

Final April 16/17 #ConnachtGAA

Dates subject to change depending on restrictions.

— Connacht GAA (@ConnachtGAA) January 18, 2021

The draw for the Connacht minor championship also took place last night. Roscommon, the reigning champions in this grade, will meet Mayo in the quarter-final and the winners will advance to take on Galway. The other semi-final will see Sligo face Leitrim.

The draw for the U-17 Connacht Football Championship made tonight. All games at the Connacht GAA COE

QF Apr 2nd@MayoGAA v @RoscommonGAA

SF Apr 9th@Galway_GAA v Mayo/Ros@sligogaa v @LeitrimGAA

Final Apr 13th#ConnachtGAA
Dates subject to change depending on restrictions

— Connacht GAA (@ConnachtGAA) January 18, 2021

All games will be played at the Connacht GAA Centre of Excellence in Bekan in Mayo. They have been provisionally fixed for dates in April but those are subject to change depending on restrictions.


Connacht U20 football championship

3 April: Quarter-final

  • Roscommon v Leitrim
Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

10 April: Semi-finals

  • Sligo v Roscommon/Leitrim
  • Galway v Mayo

16/17 April: Final

Click Here: new zealand blues jersey

Connacht minor football championship

2 April: Quarter-final

  • Mayo v Roscommon

9 April: Semi-finals

  • Galway v Mayo/Roscommon
  • Sligo v Leitrim

13 April: Final


The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!